International Development Jobs and Consulting Opportunities

 

Subscribe to job updates       JOBSEEKERS:  Subscribe to Fast-Track Job Search (over 900 positions filled in 2010)

Did you know?
The combined DevNetJobs Global Network reaches out to over 0.6 million international development colleagues.

Over 12,800 international development recruiters post their jobs on DevNetJobs.org

Conseiller(ère) canadien(ne) en développement économique local

ShareThis
La Fédération canadienne des municipalités (FCM)
Location: Kyiv, en Ukraine
Last Date: January 9, 2011

Conseiller(ère) canadien(ne) en développement économique local

Affectation de deux ans à Kyiv, en Ukraine 

La FCM est à la recherche d’un(e) professionnel(le) municipal(e) canadien(ne) possédant une expérience démontrée en planification, mise en œuvre et prestation de services en matière de développement économique local (DEL) au Canada pour se joindre à l’équipe du Programme municipal de développement économique local (PMDEL) en Ukraine, à Kyiv, en Ukraine, à titre de conseiller en DEL pour un minimum de deux ans à compter du début de 2011 avec une possibilité de prolongation.   

____________________________________________________________________________ 

La Fédération canadienne des municipalités (FCM) est la voix nationale des gouvernements municipaux canadiens. La FCM est vouée à améliorer la qualité de vie dans toutes les collectivités en favorisant des gouvernements municipaux forts, efficaces et redevables.   

En janvier 2010, la FCM et l’Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) ont signé un accord de contribution pour le Programme municipal de développement économique local (PMDEL) en Ukraine d’une durée de cinq ans et d’une valeur de 17 millions $ (CAN). Le but du PMDEL est de contribuer à l’amélioration des perspectives économiques en Ukraine grâce à des gouvernements locaux inclusifs et efficaces qui répondent aux besoins de leurs citoyens et de leurs entreprises par le biais du renforcement de leurs institutions habilitantes. Le PMDEL permettra de renforcer les capacités de 13 villes dans les oblasts de Dnipropetrovsk et de Lviv en vue d’obtenir des améliorations pratiques au niveau de la planification, de la mise en œuvre et de la prestation de services municipaux qui appuient le développement économique local. Le PMDEL aidera également à renforcer les relations intergouvernementales entre les ordres de gouvernement pour assurer le dialogue politique, la coordination et la diffusion de connaissances au moyen d’initiatives de collaboration pratiques qui contribuent à atteindre les résultats en matière de croissance et de développement économique et il aidera l’Association of Ukrainian Cities (AUC) à améliorer les services qu’elle offre à ses membres qui appuient le DEL et qui favorisent la participation des femmes sur les plans économique et politique. 

____________________________________________________________________________ 

Poste :                         Conseiller(ère) [canadien(ne)] en matière de développement économique local (DEL)

Service :                       FCM International

Relève de :                   Directeur du Programme PMDEL en Ukraine

Endroit :                       Kyiv, Ukraine

Durée :                         Contrat de deux ans    

Rémunération :            Salaire concurrentiel, avantages sociaux et ensemble de mise en œuvre fourni

___________________________________________________________________________ 

Objectif principal

Sous la direction du directeur de programme du PMDEL en Ukraine et en travaillant en étroite collaboration avec les autres membres de l’équipe du PMDEL à Kyiv et au Canada, un large éventail de bénévoles municipaux canadiens ainsi que de consultants – ukrainiens et canadiens – et des partenaires ukrainiens du PMDEL, le conseiller ou la conseillère canadien(ne) en DEL sera chargé(e) de donner des conseils stratégiques à la FCM et au PMDEL au sujet d’une stratégie de développement économique et du programme de renforcement des capacités.  

En collaboration avec les spécialistes des gouvernements locaux et le conseiller en matière d’égalité des sexes du PMDEL en Ukraine, il/elle supervisera et facilitera la mise en œuvre des principales réalisations attendues pour certaines fonctions interdépendantes, dont : (a) la planification stratégique municipale et le financement pour le développement économique local, (b) l’élaboration du module de renforcement des capacités du DEL (pour les municipalités et les hommes et les femmes d’affaires), (c) la mise en œuvre des initiatives de DEL, (d) la coordination et la coopération intergouvernementales pour le DEL, (e) la coordination avec d’autres programmes financés par les donateurs et les institutions ukrainiennes qui s’occupent de DEL, et (f) d’autres éléments qui ont une incidence sur la mise en œuvre du projet. Le conseiller ou la conseillère en DEL aidera également à déterminer les facteurs de réussite qui permettent d’obtenir des résultats dans les villes partenaires ciblées et de suivre les progrès vers l’atteinte des résultats attendus.  Il ou elle contribuera à la documentation et à la diffusion des connaissances et des pratiques exemplaires en matière de DEL et appuiera le directeur de projet et l’équipe du PMDEL dans d’autres dossiers pertinents pour la réussite du projet. Le conseiller ou la conseillère en DEL aidera également la division FCM International en donnant des conseils au sujet d’une stratégie de développement économique local et de la mise en œuvre du programme de renforcement des capacités.

À titre d’employé de la FCM, il ou elle protègera l’intégrité et la réputation de la Fédération et appuiera son rôle à titre de chef de file mondial en coopération internationale dont l’objectif est de renforcer les capacités et d’améliorer la gouvernance à l’échelle locale.

Principales responsabilités

Le conseiller ou la conseillère en DEL aura les responsabilités précises suivantes :

1.     donner des conseils et appuyer l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre de la planification et des projets de développement économique local inclusives avec les partenaires ukrainiens ciblés;

2.     superviser une évaluation des régions et des municipalités ciblées et recommander des choix et des possibilités pour le développement économique local inclusif en tenant compte des complexités et des obstacles au développement économique qui caractérisent actuellement l’Ukraine;

3.     collaborer avec l’équipe de programme du PMDEL, les bénévoles et les consultants pour élaborer et mettre en œuvre des activités de formation et de renforcement des capacités pour les partenaires du PMDEL – hommes et femmes – qui intègrent les pratiques exemplaires canadiennes et européennes;

4.     faciliter l’intégration des bénévoles et des consultants municipaux canadiens afin d’assurer leur participation efficace aux activités de formation et de renforcement des capacités du PMDEL;

5.     collaborer avec l’équipe du PMDEL afin d’assurer l’harmonisation avec les autres initiatives des donateurs actifs dans le développement économique municipal et régional en Ukraine;

6.     élaborer et mettre en œuvre un système de suivi efficace pour la mise en œuvre du développement économique local conformément aux démarches de la FCM et aux pratiques exemplaires canadiennes et européennes;

7.     participer à la planification des travaux, à la budgétisation et aux activités de rapports du PMDEL;

8.     élaborer diverses études de cas en matière de DEL qui seront utilisées dans les séances de sensibilisation ukrainiennes et à l’échelle internationale pour appuyer d’autres initiatives de la FCM;

9.     donner des conseils généraux à l’équipe du PMDEL sur un éventail de secteurs et sujets, au besoin;

10.  effectuer d’autres tâches désignées par le directeur du projet du PMDEL qui sont compatibles avec la portée générale du poste; et

11.  conseiller la FCM International au sujet d’une stratégie et des outils de renforcement des capacités en matière de DEL et des nouvelles propositions de programme de DEL, partager les connaissances en matière de DEL et participer au renforcement des capacités des employés dans ce domaine.  

Connaissances, scolarité et expérience :

Le conseiller ou la conseillère canadien(ne) en DEL doit avoir :

§  une maîtrise ou une expérience équivalente en développement économique, administration des affaires ou administration publique;

§  un minimum de sept (7) ans d’expérience démontrée dans le secteur municipal canadien dans les pratiques exemplaires en matière de DEL, la planification/budgétisation, les opérations et la prestation des services, ainsi que dans les mécanismes de consultation des intervenants, les partenariats avec le secteur municipal, le milieu des affaires et le secteur privé, et la coopération intergouvernementale pour le développement économique régional et local;

§  la connaissance des enjeux, des possibilités et des contraintes dans le développement économique local en Ukraine, idéalement acquise à la suite d’affectations de même nature en Europe centrale et de l’Est (ECE), par exemple dans les anciens pays communistes;

§  une excellente expérience pratique dans la mise en œuvre d’initiatives de développement économique dans différents milieux (canadien, ECE et/ou Europe) et, idéalement, une expérience globale du secteur qui est pertinente à l’Ukraine;

§  une expérience pertinente dans la coordination des donateurs et l’engagement des institutions financières internationales;

§  une expérience démontrée dans le suivi et l’évaluation des participants au niveau municipal et/ou provincial, avec un accent particulier sur la conception, l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre d’initiatives de développement économique;

§  d’excellentes aptitudes pour l’organisation, les exposés et la formation, la communication et la rédaction;

§  une expérience dans les activités liées à la gestion des connaissances, y compris l’élaboration de pratiques exemplaires, d’études de cas, de documents et d’outils de formation et d’autres produits;

§  un réseau établi de contacts pour appuyer le recrutement d’une équipe de ressources techniques canadiennes composée de bénévoles et de consultants municipaux pour assurer la mise en œuvre efficace du programme;

§  la connaissance de l’anglais est essentielle; la capacité de communiquer en ukrainien serait un excellent atout. 

Pour de plus amples renseignements au sujet de ce poste ou au sujet de la FCM, veuillez consulter notre site Web à www.fcm.ca

Allez à la section des carrières de notre site Web pour postuler. La date limite pour postuler est le 9 janvier 2011.   

Nous remercions tous les candidats de leur intérêt; toutefois, nous ne communiquerons qu’avec ceux qui auront été retenus pour une entrevue. Toutes les demandes seront conservées dans nos dossiers pendant une période de six mois après l’embauche.  


 

Was this job of interest to you? Receive 20-25 jobs & consultancies in your email each day via our 3 Months DevNetJobs Value Membership. For only USD 44 for 3 months.  Click here to proceed

 
© Copyright 2010-2025 www.DevNetJobs.org: International Development Jobs.  All Rights Reserved.
Disclaimer: DevNetJobs is not affiliated with, nor does it endorse any of the Non-Profits, UN, UNDP, other UN Agencies, Charities, For-Profits, Governments, Companies or their jobs posted here. The contents of this site are provided as an information resource to jobseekers, advertisers and recruiters. None of these organizations or DevNetJobs is responsible for accuracy of these jobs or for external links from this website. Jobseekers should exercise caution to ascertain the validity of the jobs, especially when any organization asks for any fees or investment as a part of its recruitment process. Should you notice any suspect jobs, write to jobs@devnetjobs.org

International Development Jobs and Consulting Opportunities

 

Subscribe to job updates       JOBSEEKERS:  Subscribe to Fast-Track Job Search (over 900 positions filled in 2010)

Did you know?
The combined DevNetJobs Global Network reaches out to over 0.6 million international development colleagues.

Over 12,800 international development recruiters post their jobs on DevNetJobs.org

Local Economic Development Advisor (Canadian)

ShareThis
Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM)
Location: Kyiv, Ukraine
Last Date: January 9, 2011

Local Economic Development Advisor (Canadian)

Two –Year Assignment – Kyiv, Ukraine 

FCM is seeking a Canadian municipal professional with proven experience in local economic development planning, operations and service delivery in Canada to join the MLED program team in Kyiv, Ukraine as an LED Advisor for a minimum of two years starting in early 2011 with the possibility of an extension. 

____________________________________________________________________________ 

The Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) is the national voice for Canadian municipal government. FCM is dedicated to improving the quality of life in all communities by promoting strong, effective and accountable municipal government.  

In January 2010, FCM and the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) signed a contribution agreement for the five-year, $17 million dollar (CAN) Ukraine Municipal Local Economic Development Program (MLED).  MLED’s goal is to contribute to improved economic opportunities in Ukraine through inclusive and effective local governments that meet the needs of their citizens and their business communities with support from strengthened enabling institutions. MLED will build the capacity of 13 cities in Dnipropetrovsk and Lviv oblasts to achieve practical improvements in municipal economic planning, operations and delivery of services that support economic development.  MLED will also foster strengthened inter-governmental relations among orders of government for policy dialogue, coordination and knowledge dissemination through practical collaborative initiatives that contribute to achieving results for economic growth and development and it will strengthen the Association of Ukrainian Cities (AUC) to improve services for its members that support LED and foster women's economic and political participation. 

 ___________________________________________________________________________

Position:                      Local Economic Development (LED) Advisor (Canadian)

Department:                 FCM International

Reports to:                   MLED Ukraine Program Director

Location:                      Based in Kyiv, Ukraine

Duration:                      Two-year contract        

Compensation:             Competitive salary; benefits and deployment package provided

__________________________________________________________________________ 

Major Purpose

Under the general direction of the MLED Ukraine Program Director and working closely with the other members of the MLED team both in Kyiv and Canada, a broad range of Canadian municipal volunteers as well as consultants – both Ukrainian and Canadian - and MLED Ukrainian partners, the Canadian LED Adviser will be responsible for providing strategic advice to FCM and MLED on local economic development strategy and capacity development programming.

Working in collaboration with the MLED Ukrainian Local Government Specialists and Gender Equality Adviser, s/he will oversee and facilitate the implementation of key deliverables related to a number of inter-related functions including: (a) municipal strategic planning and funding for local economic development, (b) LED capacity building module development (for municipalities and men and women in the business community), (c) LED initiative implementation, (d)  inter-governmental coordination and cooperation for LED, (e) coordination with other donor-funded programs and Ukrainian institutions working on LED, and (f) other issues that impact the implementation of the project. The LED Adviser will also help identify success factors that enable results in the targeted partner cities and monitor progress towards expected results.  The LED Advisor will contribute to the documentation and dissemination of LED knowledge and best practice and support the MLED Project Director and team on other issues relevant to the successful implementation of the project. The LED Advisor will also assist FCM International with strategic advice on local economic development strategy and capacity development program implementation.

As an FCM Employee, the individual will protect its integrity, reputation and support its role as a global leader in international cooperation aimed at strengthening local capacities and enhancing governance.

Key Responsibilities

The individual will have a number of specific responsibilities that includes:

1.     Advising on and supporting the development and implementation of inclusive local economic development  planning and initiatives with targeted Ukrainian partners;

2.     Overseeing an assessment of the target regions and municipalities and recommending options and opportunities for inclusive local economic development taking into account the complexities and barriers to economic development currently being experienced in Ukraine;

3.     Working with the MLED program team, volunteers and consultants to develop and implement training/capacity development activities for MLED partners – men and women - that integrate Canadian and European best practice;

4.     Facilitating the integration of Canadian municipal volunteers and consultants to ensure their effective involvement in MLED training/capacity development activities;

5.     Working with the MLED team to ensure alignment with other donor initiatives working in municipal and regional economic development in Ukraine;

6.     Developing and implementing an effective monitoring system for local economic development implementation in line with FCM approaches and with Canadian and European best practice;

7.     Participating in MLED work planning, budgeting and reporting activities;

8.     Drafting a number of  LED case studies to be used in Ukrainian awareness sessions and internationally to support other FCM initiatives;

9.     Providing broad sector advice and support to the MLED team on a range of sectors and topics as required; and

10.  Performing other duties as assigned by the MLED Project Director that are consistent with the overall scope of the position.

11.  Advising FCM International on LED capacity development strategy and tools and new LED program     proposals, sharing LED knowledge and participating in the capacity development of staff in this area.

 

Knowledge, Education and Experience:

The Canadian LED Advisor will have

§  A Masters degree or equivalent experience in Economic Development, Business Administration, or Public Administration;

§  A minimum of seven (7) years proven experience within the Canadian municipal sector in LED best practice policy, planning/budgeting, operations and service delivery as well as stakeholder consultation mechanisms, municipal-business community/private sector partnerships and inter-governmental cooperation for regional/local economic development;

§  Knowledge of the issues, opportunities and constraints in local economic development in Ukraine ideally gained through assignments of similar scope in Central and Eastern Europe (CEE), i.e. post communist countries.

§  Solid practical experience in the implementation of economic development initiatives in a variety of environments (Canadian, CEE and/or Europe) and ideally, broad sector experience relevant to Ukraine;

§  Relevant experience in donor coordination and international financial institution engagement;

§  Proven experience in participatory monitoring and evaluation at municipal and/or provincial  levels, with a particular focus on design, development, and application on economic development initiatives;

§  Strong organizational, presentation/training skills, communication skills, and writing skills;

§  Experience in knowledge management efforts, including the development of best practices, case studies, training materials and tools and other products;

§  An established network of contacts to support for recruitment, of a Canadian technical resource team of municipal volunteers and consultants to ensure effective program implementation;

§  Proficiency in English essential; the ability to communicate in Ukrainian is a strong asset. 

For additional information on this posting, or for further information on FCM, access our website at www.fcm.ca

Visit the careers section of our website to apply. Deadline for applications is January 9th, 2011

We thank all candidates for their interest; however we will only contact those selected for an interview. All the applications will be kept on file for six months following the hiring. 


 

Was this job of interest to you? Receive 20-25 jobs & consultancies in your email each day via our 3 Months DevNetJobs Value Membership. For only USD 44 for 3 months.  Click here to proceed

 
© Copyright 2010-2025 www.DevNetJobs.org: International Development Jobs.  All Rights Reserved.
Disclaimer: DevNetJobs is not affiliated with, nor does it endorse any of the Non-Profits, UN, UNDP, other UN Agencies, Charities, For-Profits, Governments, Companies or their jobs posted here. The contents of this site are provided as an information resource to jobseekers, advertisers and recruiters. None of these organizations or DevNetJobs is responsible for accuracy of these jobs or for external links from this website. Jobseekers should exercise caution to ascertain the validity of the jobs, especially when any organization asks for any fees or investment as a part of its recruitment process. Should you notice any suspect jobs, write to jobs@devnetjobs.org